When you have edit access to the purchasing module under Company Settings > Access Templates, you have the option to create a purchase from the order screen.
On the order screen, the button "Create a purchase" is located in a dropdown menu on the left side. The last choice in this menu is remembered at the user level, so the next time you create an order or open an existing order, this choice will be visible at the top of the list.
When you click "Create a purchase," the "New purchase" screen opens and you select what you want to purchase.
Here I have chosen to purchase a new dumper, and I am going to replenish the inventory with an existing quantity product of a screws.
When I click the "Create" button, I receive a message that products from the purchase will be linked to the active order:
Then the choice with order relations appears:
When I click OK on the purchase screen (before confirming the purchase lines), two order lines are created at the group level in the order screen. You can click the purchase icon on the left side to open the purchase again, and the purchase is marked with the order number.
The order lines remain as group bookings until you receive the products you have ordered. Then the groups are automatically converted into products so that you can deliver them on a packing slip.
If you convert the group or product to another product, the link to the purchase you created disappears. You will then receive the following message:
You can see that the link is gone when the order line no longer has the purchase icon:
Canceling a Purchase or Purchase Line
If you cancel a purchase or one/more purchase lines, you will be asked if you want to delete the order line linked to the purchase line. If you choose no, the group booking will remain, but the link to the purchase disappears.